For additional titles, browse the call number range ML3797-3799.5.
Bayne, Pauline Shaw, and Edward Komara. A Guide to Library Research in Music. Rowman & Littlefield, 2020.
This book introduces the process and techniques for researching and writing about music. It provides examples of different types of writing, offers a thorough introduction to music literature, describes various information-searching methods and library-based organizational systems and explores the wide array of music resources.
Gottlieb, Jane. Music Library and Research Skills. Oxford University Press, 2017.
Jane Gottlieb introduces the prime concepts of music research, helping students develop a firm understanding of the tools that provide information about music: what types of sources exist, how they are arranged, and how they may best be used to do research.
Rogers, Victoria. Postgraduate Research in Music: A Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Thesis. Oxford University Press, 2024.
"...an essential text for music students who are undertaking postgraduate research. Unique in its approach and scope, this is a "how to" book, a practical guide whose aims are fourfold: to equip students with the skills and knowledge that are needed for postgraduate research in music; to consider all key aspects of the research process in the order in which they are encountered, from the initial stages of a research project through to completion of the thesis; to present a music-specific focus, with explanations and examples that are immediately relevant for all music research and which take into account the special characteristics of music as a discipline; and to provide a teaching framework for lecturers, bypassing the need to extrapolate information from books designed for other disciplines"
Sampsel. Laurie J. Music Research. Oxford University Press, 2019.
With a strong focus on the connection between research and writing, this comprehensive guide is ideal for use in both undergraduate and graduate music courses that require students to engage in library research or to write research papers.
Turabian, Kate L. Student's Guide to Writing College Papers. University of Chicago Press, 2019.
"Students of all levels need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate L. Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. For its fifth edition, Chicago has reconceived and renewed this classic work for today's generation. Addressing the same range of topics as Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations but for beginning writers and researchers, this guide introduces students to the art of formulating an effective argument, conducting high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging class paper."
For more titles, browse the call number range ML3797-3799.5; see also LB2369 for books on general thesis preparation.
Cowdery, James R., editor. How to Write about Music: The RILM Manual of Style. Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, 2023.
"This manual addresses a multitude of special problems faced by writers on music—problems rarely solved by general writing guides. It applies an international perspective to matters often handled piecemeal and in ethnocentric fashion: work titles, manuscript sources, transliteration, non-Western theoretical systems, opus and catalogue numbers, and pitch and chord names, to name just a few. Detailed guidelines are provided for the bibliographic handling of standard print, audiovisual, and electronic sources, as well as specialized ones such as program notes, liner notes, and music videos. A chapter on indexing is also included. Throughout, abundant examples illustrate each point."
Donahue, Thomas. A Style and Usage Guide to Writing about Music. Scarecrow Press, 2010.
"In A Style and Usage Guide to Writing About Music, Thomas Donahue presents a collection of guidelines to help express through the written word the special notations, terms, and concepts found in the discipline of music. It concentrates on questions of style and format in the interest of good formal writing within the context of United-States English, so that writers may communicate their ideas clearly and effectively. While compiling the guidelines, Donahue reviewed content from many other music and general guides. He documented the most common formats in order to assist the writer in selecting an appropriate format for the given circumstance when more than one may apply. The book draws on profuse musically-oriented examples and is arranged by topics both musical and typographic, such as the proper use and spelling of composer names and musical concepts; the use of notes, pitches, and octave delineations; letters and numbers employed to describe form and harmony; when, where, and how to apply compound words and hyphenation of terms and names; and the proper citation of musical and audiovisual sources. The book concludes with a glossary of typographic terms, a bibliography, and a comprehensive index, making this a valuable resource for students, scholars, teachers, and writers.
Eco, Umberto. How to Write a Thesis. Translated by Caterina Mongiat Farina & Geoff Farina. MIT Press, 2015.
Umberto Eco's wise and witty guide to researching and writing a thesis, published in English for the first time.
Holoman, D. Kern. Writing About Music: A Style Sheet. University of California Press, 2014.
Where do you place the hyphen in "Beethoven" if it breaks between two lines? How do you cite John Coltrane's album A Love Supreme? Is it "premiere" or "première"? The answers and much more can be found in this definitive resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with music in print. Extending the principles devised for the classical repertoires, this revised and expanded edition now includes examples from world music, rock, jazz, popular music, and cinema. This essential volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, while others explain the requirements for submitting manuscripts and electronic files, and outline best practices for student writers. An appendix lists common problem words. Updates include greatly simplified citations of Internet locators, the recognition of multiple platforms, and the expectation of paperless transmission and storage of work. Cited as the authority by The Chicago Manual of Style, this classic handbook is the go-to source for anyone writing about music.
Strunk, William, and E.B. White. The Elements of Style. Fourth edition. Open Road Integrated Media, 2023.
"The fourth edition of the timeless composition guide, including an introduction by E. B. White and a foreword by Roger Angell. First published in 1919 as a primer for Cornell University students, The Elements of Style became a renowned reference for writers of all kinds. With a straightforward manner that exemplifies its own advice, this succinct book covers everything from tips on proper comma usage to the principles of effective communication. The manual also includes lists of common errors to avoid, making it an indispensable asset for anyone seeking to write clear, correct, and engaging prose."
Wingell, Richard. Writing About Music: An Introductory Guide. Pearson Prentice Hall, 2009.
This book presents a concise, clear, and handy guide for both music majors and non-majors who have to complete research and writing assignments for their classes. It approaches the craft of writing from a musical perspective, offering examples drawn from the kind of materials that musicians often use.
