MSM Library: Introduction to Music Research: Resources for Singers

Resources for Singers

Books
Resources

Singers' Shelf. Located one aisle behind the reference desk (at the end of the reference books), this section includes books of texts, translations, and phonetic transcriptions for songs and arias. They don't circulate out of the Library, so they should always be on the shelf when not in use.

General
Nico Castel's books (these are also included in the "Phonetic transcriptions" search listed just below)
Diction
Phonetic transcriptions of songs, arias, and complete operas
Training, auditions
Vocal terminology
Vocational guidance

Bibliographies of Repertoire
These are a few subject searches you can try, but the list is not complete. Keyword searches for similar terms will show you bibliographies devoted to various instruments and combinations that include song repertoire.
Operas
Songs
Songs with [varying combinations of collaborators in our collection]
Vocal music

Opera
Dictionaries and encyclopedias Production, study, teaching
General histories and annals
Librettos and translations
Plot synopses
Studies of operas

Musical Theatre

General works, dictionaries, encyclopedias Production, study, teaching
General histories and annals
Librettos and translations
Plot synopses
Studies of individual musicals

Art Song Transpositions
Custom-made transpositions of art songs, made by human beings rather than software.
CS Music: Resources & Recruiting for Singers
A guide to auditions, jobs, and scholarships for singers.
Cultural Inclusion: A List of Resources
Digital Theatre+
Live performances, rehearsals, interviews, master classes, and study guides from many different companies in England and the United States.
Ebooks
Tips for finding and using the MSM Library's collection of ebooks.
IPA Source
International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Magazines, Newspapers, and Journals in the MSM Library
A list of the titles we subscribe to, some in paper, others available digitally. The current issue is displayed. The collection includes some devoted to opera, musical theater, jazz, and singing.
Medici TV
A streaming video service for concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master classes, festivals, competitions, and jazz.
Met Opera on Demand
Video- and audiorecordings of Met performances dating from the 1930s to this year.
Music Periodicals Database
More than half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from periodicals dating from 1874 to today.
Musical Theater Songs: The Song Is You
"Enter up to 20-plus parameters (character age, ease for accompanist, popularity, tempo, vocal range with interactive keyboard, year, etc.) to generate a list of songs tailored to your needs."
Naxos Music Library: Classical
Recordings from dozens of major labels, with excellent metadata.
Naxos Video Library
Classical music performances, operas, ballets, live concerts, and documentaries.
Oxford Music Online
The gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
SingersBabel
Word-for-word translations of songs and arias, International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions, and recordings of native speakers reciting texts.
Vocal Music Instrumentation Index
"We hand-catalogued 24,496 movements of Handel, Telemann, J.S. Bach, Haydn, Mozart, C.P.E. Bach, and more – using scholarly sources – so you can search individual movements by instrumentation, text, key, and more."

View More Digital Resources